The Orchestral Music of Michael Tippett (Music since 1900)

The Orchestral Music of Michael Tippett (Music since 1900)

  • £16.59
  • Save £51

Thomas Schuttenhelm
Cambridge University Press, 2/28/2014
EAN 9781107000247, ISBN10: 1107000246

Hardcover, 330 pages, 25.4 x 18 x 2 cm
Language: English

With extracts from the composer's letters, writings, interviews and broadcasts, and supported by evidence from his sketchbooks and manuscripts, The Orchestral Music of Michael Tippett explores Tippett's intentions and argues that the experiences that triggered his creative impulses are integral to understanding his music. In his discussion of Tippett's creative process, Thomas Schuttenhelm attempts to recapture the circumstances under which Tippett's orchestral works were created, to document how his visionary aspirations were developed and sustained throughout the creative cycle, and to chart how conception was transmuted from idea through to performance. Analysing Tippett's orchestral works throughout his long career, from the Symphonic Movement of 1931 to his final masterpiece The Rose Lake in 1991–3, Schuttenhelm explores each work in detail to provide a comprehensive commentary on one of the most influential British composers of the twentieth century.

1. Symphonic Movement (1930) and the Symphony in B-Flat (1933–4)
2. Concerto for Double String Orchestra (1938–9)
3. Fantasia on a Theme of Handel (1939–41)
4. Symphony No. 1 (1944–5)
5. Little Music (1946)
6. Suite in D (1948)
7. Fantasia Concertante on a Theme of Corelli (1953)
8. Divertimento on 'Sellinger's Round' (1953–4)
9. Piano Concerto (1953–4)
10. Symphony No. 2 (1956–7)
11. Praeludium for Brass, Bells and Percussion (1962)
12. Concerto for Orchestra (1962–3)
13. Symphony No. 3 (1970–2)
14. Symphony No. 4 (1976–7)
15. Triple Concerto (1978–9)
16. The Rose Lake (1991–3).